Tri-Institutional MD-PhD Program

You are here

News and Events

The National Academy of Medicine has named a Tri-Institutional MD-PhD Program alumnus, Sandeep Kishore, MD, PhD, MSc, and a current Tri-Institutional faculty member, Sohail Tavazoie, MD, PhD, as 2018-2019 Emerging Leaders in Health and Medicine. 
Gustav Cederquist, Thesis Defense
MD-PhD Student Gustav Cederquist will defend his thesis Dissecting the Complex Landscape of Neurodevelopmental Disorders Using Human Pluripotent Stem Cells on Wednesday, July 18th in the Zuckerman Auditorium (on the first floor of the Zuckerman Research Center) at 10am.Gustav conducted his research in the lab of Dr. Lorenz Studer of the Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center.
Kara Maxwell, Tri-Institutional MD PhD graduating class of 2007, has joined the faculty as an Assistant Professor, tenure track, in the Department of Medicine and Department of Genetics at the University of Pennsylvania. Dr. Maxwell is a board certified Medical Oncologist who performs clinical services in the area of Cancer Risk Evaluation. Her research interests are in cancer genetics and in the translation of genetic data into improved management of individuals with cancer.
Kimberly Rickman, MD-PhD student, will defend her thesis Molecular Characterization of Novel Mutations in Fanconi Anemia Patients, on Wednesday, June 13, 2018 at 3:30pm in the Carson Family Auditorium on The Rockefeller University Campus. There will be a tea preceeding the lecture in the same location.Kimberly is doing her research in Professor Agata Smogorzewska's lab at Rockefeller University. 
Diana Wang, PhD Defense
DOCTORAL DISSERTATION LECTUREPIP4K has a Catalytic Independent Role in Modulating PIP5K and the PI3K Pathway. by DIANA GRACE WANG
Krista Dubin, PhD Thesis Defense
DOCTORAL DISSERTATION LECTUREMicrobial Dynamics During Gut Inflammation and Infection.byKRISTA ALEXANDRA DUBINCandidate for the Degree of Doctor of Philosophy 
Mentoring Academy Established at Weill Cornell Medicine
Weill Cornell Medicine has established a new Mentoring Academy that is dedicated to nurturing the next generation of healthcare leaders. Dr. Ruth Gotian, a highly regarded academic administrator and educator, has been appointed assistant dean for mentoring and will lead the academy as its executive director.
As second year medical students, Nathan Liu and David Westfall had a recurring problem when they studied together: how to describe what they were seeing on X-rays and other images if they weren’t working side-by-side.
Gateways Alumni John A. Campbell Awarded UNCF/Merck Undergraduate Science Research Fellow
Gateways alumni John Campbell, '09 has just been awarded the UNCF/Merck Undergraduate Science Research Fellow. John was one of 15 students that was selected for this highly competitive award. John is extremely appreciative of his summer Gateways to the Laboratory experience and thanks the Gateways Program administration by stating, "I am both humbled and honored at this immense opportunity with which I have been presented. I do not take it lightly...
Many successful researchers cite the influence of a mentor who inspired and advised them—and that’s especially true for Dr. Kevin O’Rourke, PhD ’17. Even though he’s still an MD-PhD student, Dr. O’Rourke cites numerous people who have helped guide him on his path.