News and Events

Randy Longman, MD, PhD, was elected as a member of The American Society for Clinical Investigation. Dr.
Alfred Chin, a third year student in the Tri-Institutional MD-PhD Program, has been awarded a predoctoral fellowship from the American Heart Association (AHA).
Jesse Novak, a fifth year student in the Tri-I MD-PhD program, has been awarded an F30 research grant from the NIH.
Aleksandr Talishinsky, PhD, received an NIH F30 research grant to support his work in the Liston Lab at Weill Cornell Graduate School. Dr. Talishinsky, who defended his thesis in October of 2021, described his research below:
In keeping with the spirit of the season, it is with gratitude that I write my first newsletter as the Director of the Tri-Institutional MD-PhD Program. These first few months of my Directorship have truly been a whirlwind, as I have navigated meeting our students in COVID-safe settings, participated in my first white coat ceremony, sampled the delicious (and potent) House libations, and interviewed all of the incredible applicants hoping to join the Tri-I in 2022.
Facing the challenge of another remote summer, Gateways to the Laboratory took the opportunity to rethink our virtual undergraduate research program and introduce innovative new elements to provide a research experience to participants unable to physically be in the labs.
Freddy E. Escorcia, Tri-I MD-PhD graduating class of 2012 and currently a researcher at the National Cancer Institute, has been named among the 2021 Lasker Scholars by a joint project of the Lasker Foundation and the National Institutes of Health. 
Sanjeethan "Sanjee" Baksh, eighth year student in the Tri-Institutional MD-PhD Program, has been named 2021 STAT Wunderkind. Dr. Baksh earned his PhD from the Fuchs Lab at The Rockefeller Univeristy in 2020 and will graduate with his MD from Weill Cornell Medicine in 2022.Read more about Sanjee and his award.
Dalton Banh, sixth year student in the Tri-Institutional MD-PhD Program, has been awarded an F30 grant by the National Institutes of Health (NIH).