MD-PhD Student Houses

In the spring of 2019, the Tri-Institutional MD-PhD Program founded a "House System." This MD-PhD student-led initiative has the goal of fostering mentorship and community within and across the Program. Other than the annual retreat, many students felt that there were not enough opportunities to get to know MD-PhD students who are enrolled in different years. The Houses were thus introduced to address this concern.

In the House System, MD-PhD students across different classes are assigned to one of five Houses. Each House organizes social activities and establishes mentorship lineages between classes. The Houses also recruit alumni or MD-PhD faculty to act as advisors. The intent for this system is to make it easier for students to find mentors and also enjoy some “informal mentorship”.

House CurieHouse Curie, MD-PhD Retreat 2019

House Marie Curie 

Senior Board Members: Kirsten Bredvik, Felipe D'Andrea, Drew D'Avino, and Rachel Mikofsky
Junior Board Members: Tori Lawless and Tona Gonzalez
Faculty Mentor: Toby Hohl

House Ramon y CajalHouse Ramon, MD-PhD Retreat 2019

House Ramón y Cajal

Head: Abby Xie
Treasurer: George Zakusilo
Mentorship: Jesse Novak and Madison Rex

House ArchimedesHouse Archimedes, MD-PhD Retreat 2019

House Archimedes

Core Five: Ellie Benitez, Jeremey Chang, Brandon Cuevas, and Michael Iskols.
Faculty Mentors: Randy Longman and Sunny Kishore

House JemisonHouse Jemison, MD-PhD Retreat 2019

House Mae Jemison

Co-heads: Abdul Abdulraouf, Ben Harrison, Fred Yen
Faculty Mentors: Andy Intelkofer and Rachel Niec

House FranklinHouse Franklin, MD-PhD Retreat 2019

House Rosalind Franklin

Co-Director: Sofia Dimitriadory
Co-Director: Emre Cardakli
Mentorship chair: Xavier Garcia
Treasurer: Eric Wang
Falutly/Alumni Mentors: Paul Cohen and Bianca Santomasso